Letters to the Editor

Fri 8 Jun 2018

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

EDITOR Steve Etwell penned: “Surely there are people out there with an opinion” (TC, 02/06).

Tue 22 May 2018

Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

premium_icon Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

Living in the present but acknowledging the past while looking towards the future is the only way forward.

Fri 18 May 2018

Cat left to die on suburban street

premium_icon Cat left to die on suburban street

I AM very annoyed with drivers around Toowoomba when they hit an animal on the road and continue driving as if it does not matter

Tue 15 May 2018

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

Letter writer Baron Large defends his stance against female NRL commentators.

Tue 1 May 2018

Why we must not have a repeat of Uber

Why we must not have a repeat of Uber

THE digital revolution has enhanced our lives in so many ways. But, as the world learned with Uber, eBay and Napster, these fabulous new services create problems...

Tue 24 Apr 2018

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

IF IT'S good enough for banking to face a Royal Commission then its time for those running the petrol industry to suffer the same scrutiny.

Mon 23 Apr 2018

Will solar panels be the pollution of the 2020s?

premium_icon Will solar panels be the pollution of the 2020s?

ONE must surely question the sincerity of our Mayor’s declaration that the soon-to-be-revamped Qld vegetation laws must not affect land for food production.

Fri 20 Apr 2018

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

The only thing pot is good for is eating pizza and watching The Simpsons.

Wed 18 Apr 2018

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

I trust that the closing ceremony which consisted mostly of insignificant small-time political garbage will be tossed into the trash bin of games history.

Thu 12 Apr 2018

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

To claim the present Aborigines are descendants of the first people to walk this land is folly and I believe the deliberate distortion of history.

Tue 10 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

I'M NOT surprised that Prince Charles declined to address an Australian Republican Movement meeting.

'Finally some sense has come to Australian Cricket'

'Finally some sense has come to Australian Cricket'

FINALLY some sense has come to Australian Cricket. (And pigs might fly?)

Mon 9 Apr 2018

Resources boss says Bowen Basin gas exploration the Qld way

Resources boss says Bowen Basin gas exploration the Qld way

'SIGNIFICANT gas reserves' hold huge potential for sector which sustains one in eight Queensland jobs.

'We need to take responsibility in race debate'

'We need to take responsibility in race debate'

WE HAVE to take responsibility for our own ignorance and deal with it, before we can tell Aboriginal people what to do about improving their lives.

Sat 7 Apr 2018

Gympie horror at push for new coal fired generation

Gympie horror at push for new coal fired generation

Gympie Community Solar Association "horrified” some Australian politicians are pushing for new coal fired electrical generation

Thu 5 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

I WAS wondering when we were going to be subjected to more rantings from the preachers of left-wing Labor/Green garbage.

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

TONY Abbott’s critics are right. He’s pushing this plan for more coal-fired electricity knowing it will hurt Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull.

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

TO THE pensioners and retirees I have one question to ask "Do you trust Bill Shorten with your retirement savings?”.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

IT IS a promising sign that young adults in high schools are taking responsibility for their peers and younger students in an attempt to stamp out bullying.

Tue 3 Apr 2018

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

If you think that Shorten is going to get into the Lodge, you are sadly mistaken.

Newer Older