Letters to the Editor

Mon 25 Mar 2019

Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

premium_icon Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

Are snake numbers increasing, or are more of us interacting with them and getting more and more into their space?

Mon 18 Mar 2019

Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

premium_icon Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

'Waking up this morning, it is hard to believe that this dreadful insult on decent human beings, has been performed by other humans.'

Fri 15 Mar 2019

YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

premium_icon YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

The second in writers series about the crisis engulfing the Darling River system

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

premium_icon Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

'For years I could not accept death penalty because of guilt that I would carry around. Could I have lived with that person's death on my soul?'

Sun 3 Mar 2019

Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

premium_icon Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

'Our deep pain was that we had to watch on as she endured that dark creep of confusion; observing the great fear in her eyes as her world collapsed'

Wed 27 Feb 2019

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

With the recent launch of the new Jaguar I-Pace electric SUV our readers wonder if it is superior to tesla’s ‘falcon-wing’ doored family hauler.

Wed 13 Feb 2019

OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

premium_icon OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

OPINION: While I am horrified at this being filmed and others just watching, I think that this behaviour is a symptom of the home life some of them have.

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

MJ's Column: Your guide for when a relationship breaks down

premium_icon MJ's Column: Your guide for when a relationship breaks down

"Let's face it separation and divorce are different for every family.”

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Thu 17 Jan 2019

Best way to deal with worry

premium_icon Best way to deal with worry

It has recently been acknowledged that “worry” is essential, however what shall we do with it?

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

premium_icon Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

Liberal Democrat Senator comes out swinging at Gympie Times columnist Colin Claridge, who he says does not know him, nor understand the electoral system

Mon 14 Jan 2019

It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

premium_icon It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

'It’s now time for the northern cyclone wasted waters to be turned west. It will cost, but will pay off for ever as large areas of drought prone Western land.'

'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

premium_icon 'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

'Then one day I woke up and realised I had a serious problem.'

Wed 9 Jan 2019

Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

premium_icon Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

I agree Nazi salutes aren’t the best way to go, but Senator Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded racist for wanting effective Australian border protection.

Mon 7 Jan 2019

Summer flu numbers hit five year high

premium_icon Summer flu numbers hit five year high

"We must remain vigilant during 2019 because, as we've seen in the past, flu can occur at any time of the year and every flu season can be different”

Sun 30 Dec 2018

LETTER: Increased need for better science knowledge

premium_icon LETTER: Increased need for better science knowledge

"There are sometimes so many basic points they misunderstand, that in responding to them it is difficult to know where to start.”

Thu 20 Dec 2018

Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

premium_icon Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

LOYAL punters are seeking advice from NSW Fair Trading after Bluesfest's controversial decision to introduce paid parking at next year's event.

Mon 17 Dec 2018

'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

premium_icon 'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

I consider myself to be a hard worker, compassionate and caring, yet my admiration sits very solidly with these staff members.

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

premium_icon Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

FREE roaming cats are of a huge health concern to many individuals (up to 10% of the human population) and they are disgusting vectors for disease.

Newer Older