Waltzing Matilda.
Waltzing Matilda.

Great Australian Storybook Collection: Waltzing Matilda

IT IS a song synonymous with Australian culture and one heard around every campfire since it was first penned in 1895.

And today the storybook version of Waltzing Matilda by Banjo Patterson could be yours for just $2.30 with the paper.

In this classic story, we're treated to not only the swagman's anecdotes and tales, but we learn of the shearers' strikes of the time and what life was like in the outback during the 19th Century.

This rich piece of Australian heritage should become part of every child's upbringing, and where better to start than with this beautiful storybook, complete with ochre-toned paintings by Freya Blackwood.

This is the 14th book in our Great Australian Storybook Collection with the final book, Wombat Stew, with tomorrow's Sunday Mail/Sunday Telegraph.

Grab your copy to complete your collection.

Here are the 15 books in the collection:

  • Sunday 23 July - Possum Magic + Collector's Case (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 24 July - The Wonky Donkey (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 25 July - Piranha's Don't Eat Bananas (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 26 July - Time for Bed (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 27 July - I Went Walking (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 28 July - Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 29 July - Pig the Pug (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 30 July - The Very Cranky Bear (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 31 July - There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Mozzie (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 1 August - This & That (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 2 August - Tales From the Gum Tree (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 3 August - The Magic Hat (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 4 August - Pig the Fibber (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 5 August - Waltzing Matilda (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 6 August - Wombat Stew (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).

Collect your books from participating newsagencies, Woolworths and IGAs.

For more information head to www.greataussie stories.com.au.



IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Photos from the weekend

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Photos from the weekend

THERE was plenty of entertainment over the weekend for Gladstone.

Parked car creates road block for council upgrades

premium_icon Parked car creates road block for council upgrades

A car parked innocently on Auckland St becomes centre of attention.

National Rugby Championship to kick off next month

premium_icon National Rugby Championship to kick off next month

Marley Brown Oval will play host to the Queensland derby clash.