WE MET Pig earlier this week in his first book, Pig the Pug.

Today, we meet again.

In the second book in this collection, Pig the Fibber, we are thrown into the chaos and mayhem that is Pig's life.

His mate Trevor the dachshund is still getting the blame for all Pig's mishaps and Pig isn't afraid to tell a few white lies to get his way, but this time it's a bowling ball that comes out as the mighty symbol of justice and retribution.

This fun children's book by Aaron Blabey could be yours for just $2.30 with today's paper.

It's one of the 15 classic stories in our Great Australian Storybook Collection and it ends this Sunday. Coming up with tomorrow's paper is Waltzing Matilda. Here are the 15 books to collect:

  • Sunday 23 July - Possum Magic + Collector's Case (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 24 July - The Wonky Donkey (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 25 July - Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 26 July - Time for Bed (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 27 July - I Went Walking (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 28 July - Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 29 July - Pig the Pug (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 30 July - The Very Cranky Bear (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 31 July - There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Mozzie (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 1 August - This & That (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 2 August - Tales From the Gum Tree (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 3 August - The Magic Hat (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 4 August - Pig the Fibber (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 5 August - Waltzing Matilda (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 6 August - Wombat Stew (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).

Collect your books from participating newsagencies, Woolworths and IGAs.

For more information, head to www.greataussie stories.com.au.



IN COURT: 77 people set to appear in Gladstone today

premium_icon IN COURT: 77 people set to appear in Gladstone today

Here is a run down of everyone listed to appear in court today

Drug addict accidentally dumps car in Boyne River

premium_icon Drug addict accidentally dumps car in Boyne River

The court was told the car was "not secured properly”.

Lakes Creek fire human remains believed to be father-of-two

premium_icon Lakes Creek fire human remains believed to be father-of-two

He was a Rockhampton local and lived at the home by himself