WE MET Pig earlier this week in his first book, Pig the Pug.

Today, we meet again.

In the second book in this collection, Pig the Fibber, we are thrown into the chaos and mayhem that is Pig's life.

His mate Trevor the dachshund is still getting the blame for all Pig's mishaps and Pig isn't afraid to tell a few white lies to get his way, but this time it's a bowling ball that comes out as the mighty symbol of justice and retribution.

This fun children's book by Aaron Blabey could be yours for just $2.30 with today's paper.

It's one of the 15 classic stories in our Great Australian Storybook Collection and it ends this Sunday. Coming up with tomorrow's paper is Waltzing Matilda. Here are the 15 books to collect:

  • Sunday 23 July - Possum Magic + Collector's Case (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 24 July - The Wonky Donkey (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 25 July - Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 26 July - Time for Bed (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 27 July - I Went Walking (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 28 July - Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 29 July - Pig the Pug (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 30 July - The Very Cranky Bear (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).
  • Monday 31 July - There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Mozzie (Gladstone Observer).
  • Tuesday 1 August - This & That (Gladstone Observer).
  • Wednesday 2 August - Tales From the Gum Tree (Gladstone Observer).
  • Thursday 3 August - The Magic Hat (Gladstone Observer).
  • Friday 4 August - Pig the Fibber (Gladstone Observer).
  • Saturday 5 August - Waltzing Matilda (Gladstone Observer).
  • Sunday 6 August - Wombat Stew (The Sunday Mail/The Sunday Telegraph).

Collect your books from participating newsagencies, Woolworths and IGAs.

For more information, head to www.greataussie stories.com.au.



List of Anzac Day services across our region

List of Anzac Day services across our region

All you need to know about where and when commemorations are held.

COAL PLEDGE: O'Dowd's commitment to mine 'unquestioned'

premium_icon COAL PLEDGE: O'Dowd's commitment to mine 'unquestioned'

Flynn MP hits out at Opposition Leader.

Boyne Island Macca's adding extra colour to HookUp

premium_icon Boyne Island Macca's adding extra colour to HookUp

Kids can get involved in competition and win great prizes.