The Gmail feature you demanded for years is finally here

GOOGLE has installed an "undo send" function as a formal setting on its email service.

That means no more moments of utter embarrassment when you realise you've accidentally sent a message to someone you weren't supposed to or sent one with a glaring error in it.

The feature has been available in Google Labs, a testing platform, for a while now and was recently introduced in the new Google Inbox app, the company explained in a blog post on Monday.

But after feedback from customers - some of whom appear to have been sending holiday plans to their bosses and kinky messages to their dads instead of to their spouses (see video below) - the feature has also been rolled out on Gmail for the web.

The feature can be switched on in 'Settings' - with a period of between five and 30 seconds available:

After sending an email, a small box appears at the top of the page which allows the user to "undo" and edit their message before sending again (or deleting altogether).



'Disgraceful': Call for action on 90-day pay terms

'Disgraceful': Call for action on 90-day pay terms

Calls for change to extended payment terms.

Land owner's plea to flood-proof site after $80k spend

Land owner's plea to flood-proof site after $80k spend

Industrial land owner reaches to council, department for help.

Alarming increase in CQ level crossing incidents

Alarming increase in CQ level crossing incidents

Renewed calls for rail safety during National Rail Safety Week.

Local Partners