Yaralla star wins Gladstone Cricketer of the Year award

By GREGOR MACTAGGARTmactaggartg@gladstoneobserver.com.au

STAR Yaralla all-rounder Troy Webster capped a fine individual season on Sunday night when he was named the 2004/05 Gladstone Cricketer of the Year.

Webster had a fine season with both bat and ball in A grade this season, scoring 458 runs at 50.89 and taking 21 wickets at 14.00.

The former Brisbane Grade cricketer was also the captain of the Gladstone Open cricket team who took out this year's CQ championships.

Calliope spinner Garry Eddy was also smiling after winning the prestigious A Grade Club Player of the Year title. The left-arm spinner was the leading A grade wicket-taker with 22 wickets at an average of 15.50 in Calliope's debut season in the top flight.

Yaralla skipper Chris Stitt took out the A grade batting double, winning both the aggregate and average trophies after his 606 run season at 75.75.

Stitt's club-mate Jay Stevens was also rewarded for his fine season, taking home the bowling average trophy with 20 wickets at 10.2.

Other A grade awards went to The Glen's young gun Liam Kirk who took out the rookie of the year and captain Jason Jefferis who was named player of the grand final.

In reserve grade, Yaralla's Ken Grant was named the player of the year. Team-mate Bill Jones took out the batting aggregate with 326 runs, with BITS batsman Steve White (48.50) winning the average trophy and also the player of the reserve grade grand final.

With the ball, Gary Marxsen did the double after his 33 wickets at 8.33 this season.

In B grade, Phil Wogandt was named player of the year after his sensational season with the ball.

Wogandt also won the bowling double after his 42 wickets at a magic average of 7.76.

Cameron Kurtz (382 runs) won the batting aggregate, while Brad Richardson (42.80) was the batting average winner.

Yaralla's Tracey Slatter was awarded the president's trophy, while her club were crowned as club champions for 2004/05.

Calliope man Ben Wriede wins Botanic to Bridge by 18 seconds

Calliope man Ben Wriede wins Botanic to Bridge by 18 seconds

Open Male and Female 8km winners cross the line with time to spare.

PAY FREEZE: Council's second offer after workers reject plan

PAY FREEZE: Council's second offer after workers reject plan

Council has been challenged to address years of wage freezes

Local Partners