Clubs make deadline for extended league

Wallabys and Valleys players clash during CQ Extended League premiership action last season.
Wallabys and Valleys players clash during CQ Extended League premiership action last season.

NINE clubs will contest the 2006 CQ Extended League premiership after the Tannum Sands, Valleys and Wallabys clubs were accepted yesterday into next year's competition.

Each of the three clubs were required to meet a number of criteria conditions, by 5pm yesterday, upon which their entry into the 2006 premiership was reliant.

Despite two of the clubs having to rush to meet the deadline, Queensland Rugby League Cen-tral Division announced yesterday that all three would line up next year.

The 2006 Extended League premiership will be contested over one round instead of two as has been the case since its introduction more than 10 years ago. The first fixtures are expected to be played on the weekend of June 3-4 with the grand final schedule for either September 9 or 10.

Prior to the Extended League season kickoff, Rockhampton and Gladstone district clubs will focus on their respective local competitions.

A draft Extended League premiership draw has been sent to the Gladstone and Rockhampton league bodies for consideration and it is hoped it, along with the local draws, will be finalised next month.

Central Division has also announced major changes to its representative program for 2006.

The one-day under-17 and under-19 selection trials and the A grade City versus Country clash of the past two years have been scrapped. In their stead, Rockhampton, Gladstone and the Central Highlands will participate in a series of representative matches to be played on a home and away basis, from which selectors will choose divisional representative sides.

Former CQU Norths coach Charlie Beresford will be at the helm of the A grade Capras in 2006 while Paul MacRae and Jeff Newsome will again be in charge of the under-19s and under-17s respectively.